Library Site

EconData Time Series Databases

3 OECD databases also included in EconData are no longer current.

See SourceOECD for the latest versions.

Connect to EconData

Note:

Econdata Time Series Databases run on dX for Windows software, which must be installed, for the user on the computer being used, in order to use the databases. If this software is not installed, or not installed for that particular user, the application will appear to open, but will output an error message saying "No official databases located. Copy Datadisks now?

Most student install PCs on campus (computer workrooms and Library), with the exception of Engineering Workrooms, have the dX for Windows software ready for installation. Staff who log in to the UOCNT domain will also have this software ready for installation.

Installing dX for Windows on campus

Go to Start, Settings, Control Panel, Add or Remove Programs, Add New Programs and select Econdata from the list of programs and click Add. This software should then be available for your login on that particular computer.

Note: This software needs to be installed for your login on every PC. Any time that you log on to a PC where you have never used Econdata in the past, you will need to re-run the installer as detailed above (even if the software appears to be installed already).

No Off-Campus Use

The licence for this software does not allow it to be installed on a home computer, so access is only available from on-campus.

Accessing the Databases

Individual databases are listed by title in the Library Catalogue and on the Databases pages. Once connected, the Official Databases box displays all of the EconData series to which the Library subscribes. Highlighting a title in this box will reveal the database icon and details. For a detailed summary of the selected database, click the ? button.

The Series Directory shows an outline of the structure of the Official Databases, which are organised into Topics and/or Sections, Tables and Series. The highest level directory is displayed; to expand/collapse the structure, use the + or - buttons.

Tables must be expanded to the lowest level to view data. At this level select the required series (Shift+Click will select adjacent series; Ctrl+Click non-adjacent). Open the View menu and choose Data to see data as a table; choose Graph to see a graph of the data. To see sub-periods of the data, open Options on the menu bar, select Timeframe and choose the required period using the Set Timeframe dialog box.

Saving/Printing Data

From the File menu, select Export (you must be in the lowest level; data can not be exported from the View display). Help with the options available can be obtained by using the ? button. Graphs are unable to be saved to disc. Save your file with an .xls extension.

To print, also from the lowest level only, open View from the menu bar and select Data. Then from the File menu, select Print.

Exit the databases by selecting Exit from the File menu.

Shortcut keys

F1 Help
Ctrl+D View selected data in table format
Ctrl+G View selected data as a graph
Ctrl+O Displays Official Databases box
Ctrl+T Displays Timeframe box
Alt+F4 Exit