Our Gallup subscription provides access to the Gallup web portal which is available anywhere - and access to some locally stored data which is only available on campus. This subscription was funded by the UC Foundation.
Gallup Analytics Portal
Coverage: An online platform providing access to nearly a century of U.S. data and over a decade of global tracking data from more than 160 countries known as the Gallup World Poll. Includes new data and historical trends at the country, state and U.S. city levels. View data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop and report findings, including direct citations of Gallup's work. Includes questions and indexes covering topics such as economics, politics and well-being. Also includes Gallup Daily and access to Gallup Brain.
Date range: 2007- (global data) ; 1930- (U.S. national data)
Publication types: datasets, metrics, articles
Number of concurrent users: unlimited
Raw data can also be obtained from Gallup. Raw data needs to be used with either SPSS or Stata software. Our current subscription access is available for 1 year until April 2019.
Tom Coupe (from the College of Business and Law) has provided the following guidance for those wanting to use data at this level:
Requesting respondent level data from the Gallup World Poll.
- Use the Gallup World Poll Reference tool to find the names of the variables you need. First you will need to Register/sign in at https://wpr.gallup.com/signin/default.aspx. A guide to using the Reference Tool is available at https://data-services.hosting.nyu.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/World-Poll-reference-tool-2.pd
- Be careful to select only those variables you need – we need to extract those variables from a huge STATA database which takes time. The more variables you include the longer it will take to download them.
- Send the list of variables, by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. In the email list the variables you need e.g. WP4 WP 16 WP5
- Janette will then extract the data from the Stata database and email it to you. Stata files can easily be transferred into SPSS files using StatTransfer.
Important: the variable names are must be all on one line and separated by a space!
The data can only be provided to or used by UC staff and students