Library Site

Library

Selecting a Database

The Library provides access to many different databases. Selecting the most appropriate for your particular search is essential for finding the information you need. Ask the following questions to help you decide which are the best databases for your search.

What subjects are covered by the database?

Some databases focus on a particular topic, such as PsycINFO (psychology) or Sociological Abstracts (sociology). Others are multidisciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects; for example InfoTrac OneFile covers all academic disciplines.

What is the regional coverage of the database?

Some databases have international coverage and often index material in other languages as well as English. Those focusing on a particular subject usually have international coverage. For example PsycINFO and Sociological Abstracts claim to cover the world literature in psychology and sociology and index material in over 20 different languages.

Other databases focus on covering information related to a particular geographical area. An example includes Index New Zealand which indexes material about New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Some multidisciplinary databases cover only English language material. These often, but not always, have a bias towards North American content. InfoTrac OneFile and the Social Sciences Index are examples.

What types of publications are covered by the database?

Most index journal articles. Other publications included may be chapters from books, dissertations, book reviews, conference papers, reports, newspaper articles and audiovisual material.

What years does the database cover?

Most databases cover material published from the 1960s or 1970s onwards. Some exceptions are PsycINFO which covers psychology publications back to 1887, Web of Science which goes back to 1900 and Index New Zealand which started in 1987. Printed indexes, where available, are still useful for finding material not covered in electronic databases.

Currency is also a consideration. However, most databases are now updated regularly.

Does the database have any special features?

Most databases provide only citations and abstracts for articles but some include the full text. InfoTrac OneFile has the full text for about half the references on its database. Newspaper databases, such as Factiva, usually provide the full text of the articles. Also, look for links to full text from within those databases that provide citations only.

Many, such as Web of Knowledge and Scopus, also enable cited reference searching and citation tracking.

How can I find out information about what type of database this is?

Each database provides access to this information about itself. It may be under "Database Information" or "Help". On the Library's Database pages and on some of the Subject Guides you will find a brief summary of the information about relevant databases to assist you in making the best choice for your search.